Tip: Activate javascript to be able to use all functions of our website

Sub-Saharan Africa

Africa is a continent of contrasts: Between rich and poor, between deserts and rainforests, between booming states and fragile contexts. In short: Africa cannot be lumped together. Sub-Saharan Africa comprises 49 of the 54 African states. More than one billion people live there.

This part of Africa is one of the poorest regions in the world: millions of people still live in poverty and there is a lack of clean water and adequate healthcare. But that is only part of the truth.

Africa is also a continent of opportunity. Several African countries are now among the fastest growing economies in the world, with the average growth rate recovering to 4% after the pandemic.

But growth must also reach the poor. And KfW Development Bank is contributing to this on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) by promoting numerous projects that are agreed with the partner governments: For example, schools and roads are being built, health centres established, water supply and wastewater disposal improved and renewable energy sources established and expanded. Support is provided for agriculture and food security. (Micro) loans are made available to small and medium-sized entrepreneurs and start-ups so that they can develop their own businesses. Governments are supported in decentralising their administrations.

KfW Development Bank has committed around EUR 2.6 billion for sub-Saharan Africa in 2023.

Regional cooperation and institutions

African Union

Read more

Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement (BOAD)

Read more

Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

Read more

East African Community (EAC)

Read more

Our offices in Sub-saharan Africa

world map

Partner Countries

We operate worldwide.

We support development programmes in developing and emerging economies in


Latin America and Caribbean

Sub-Saharan Africa

North Africa and Middle East