Students in a auditorium

    Award for practice-oriented development research

    KfW Development Bank supports the German Economic Association in awarding the prize for excellent practice-oriented development research.

    The German Economic Association, which was founded in 1873, is an association of currently around 3,800 economists from more than 20 countries, mainly Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The Research Group on Development Economics of the German Economic Association announces the sponsorship prize, which is then awarded at its annual meeting in June each year.

    The prize for practice-oriented development research honours young researchers whose PhD theses combine scientific excellence and practical relevance for development policy. The prize is intended to promote the dialogue between science and practice. It is thematically open and is awarded for work from the entire field of social science development research. All work that contributes to a better understanding of sustainable development, offers new solutions to the problems and challenges in developing countries and thus has the potential to provide new impetus for development cooperation is welcome.

    The current Sponsorship Prize Committee consists of the university professors Erdmute Alber (University of Bayreuth), Clara Brandi (IDOS and University of Bonn), Gregor Dobler (University of Freiburg), Javier Revilla Diez (University of Cologne), Andreas Fuchs (University of Göttingen), Michael Grimm (University of Passau), Ulrike Grote (University of Hanover) and KfW Development Bank.

    Further information

    Award winners since 2010

    German Economic Association - Research Group on Development Economics


    KfW Development Bank

    Strategy, Official Relations and Partnerships

    Palmengartenstrasse 5-9

    60325 Frankfurt am Main