A man working with coffee beans

    African Union

    Cross-border trade as a development opportunity

    The African Union (AU), successor to the Organization of African Unity (OAU) since 2002, is the association of all 54 African states (except for Morocco). It is based in Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia. The stated goal of the AU is to shape the future of the African continent by promoting political and economic development and supporting peace processes. On behalf of the German federal government, KfW Development Bank supports the AU in the priority areas of peace and security, regional economic integration and good governance. Additional measures financed are carried out in the sectors of education and employment promotion as well as agriculture and drought insurance.

    Transparency Portal

    Learn more about our projects in Sub-Saharan Africa and their results.


    KfW Office Addis Ababa

    Director KfW Office: Diana Hedrich

    Kirkos Kifle Ketema

    Woreda 8

    P.O. Box 100009 Addis Ababa