Tip: Activate javascript to be able to use all functions of our website

East African Community (EAC)

Close cooperation among six countries

Six countries in East Africa are striving for closer cooperation. Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda founded the East African Community (EAC) in 2000, and were joined by Burundi and Rwanda in 2007 and recently the South Sudan in April 2016. The member states agreed on the establishment of a common market for goods, services, capital and labour as well as a monetary and political union in the medium term. On behalf of the German federal government, KfW Development Bank provides support to the regional economic integration process in the EAC. KfW cooperates closely with the EAC Secretariat as the strategic coordinating body to ensure investments in the areas of infrastructure, social security systems, health and education in the member states can be fully harnessed at regional level. Furthermore, the modern EAC Secretariat building in Arusha, Tanzania financed by Germany has today become an important symbol of the close cooperation.

Map of the EAC members

Further information


KfW Office Dar es Salaam

Director KfW Office: Jennifer Wörl

Rufiji Street Plot 1668

House No. 20

Masaki Peninsula

Dar es Salaam


+255 22 26 00 656

Transparency Portal

Learn more about our projects in Sub-Saharan Africa and their results.

Read more